Sun-Dried Tomato Hummus

I finally made falafel! I first had falafel in Berlin with my best friend’s cousins, and I loved it.

IMG_7823

Flavorful, full of good texture, filling, and healthy (if we ignore the deep-fri- I mean, super nutritious cooking process). I wanted to try making it myself, but I didn’t have a food processor and I wasn’t about to mince a thousand chickpeas by hand. Even I’m not that dedicated. BUT, thanks to a propitious sale, I finally got my hands on a good food processor.
After a lot of painstaking research quick Google search, I found a great recipe from Tori Avey.
http://toriavey.com/toris-kitchen/2011/01/falafel/
I followed this recipe exactly, and it was worth it! The only thing I did just a bit differently was pan fry my falafel in little patty shapes so I didn’t have to try to deep fry a round ball in a lot of oil.

IMG_0834 (2)
they’re not burnt, i promise.

The flavors were spot-on to what I remember, and the texture was exactly the same! Plus, it was actually a lot easier to make than I expected. This is definitely a recipe I’ll be saving. To go with it, I made a tahini yogurt sauce, a basic chopped salad, and sun-dried tomato hummus. Enjoy!

IMG_0838 (2)
IMG_0822 (2)


Tahini Yogurt Sauce
Ingredients
1 part tahini
2 parts plain yogurt (plain Greek yogurt if you want a thicker dip consistency)
pinch of salt
squeeze of lemon

Method
Mix thoroughly. I recommend you use it all immediately to avoid storing mixed yogurt.


Sun-Dried Tomato Hummus
Ingredients
4 cups cooked chickpeas
1/3 cup olive oil
3 tablespoons chopped sun-dried tomatoes
4 cloves garlic
juice of one lemon
salt and pepper

Method
1. Dump everything into a food processor or a blender.
2. Process or blend until it reaches the desired consistency. Add up to 4 tablespoons of water if it is too dry.
3. Enjoy!

Makes 4 1/2 cups hummus


IMG_0822 (2)

Notes:
I use dried chickpeas instead of canned chickpeas. Wash dried chickpeas thoroughly and soak in plenty of water at room temperature for 24 hours (I change out the water a couple times). Bring the chickpeas to a boil, turn down the heat and simmer for about fifteen minutes. Keep an eye on it as it can boil over quickly. Leave it to sit for a couple hours.
Be careful about putting hot chickpeas into a blender or food processor. You don’t want the heat to cause a pressure build-up in your machine and damage anything.
The chickpeas do not need to be husked, although I’ve heard husked chickpeas produce a smoother consistency. I have never noticed any problems with the texture I get from whole chickpeas.
I would not make hummus without a blender or a food processor. I ended up husking all my chickpeas, because I couldn’t crush it fine enough without a machine, and I spent over half an hour mashing chickpeas with a fork and never got a good hummus. 10/10 would not recommend.

 

Leave a Reply

